Jerusalem Artichoke Association of Canada

Jerusalem Artichoke Association of Canada (JAAC) Committee Structure

​​​​Founders: Dr. Farah Hosseinian & Dr. Edward (Ted) Farnworth

1- Executive Committee

  • Co-ordinates and overseas functioning of the JAAC


     Farah Hosseinian:farah.hosseinian@carleton.ca


     Edward Farnworth:  tedfarnworth@yahoo.com


     Mark Maillloux:mmailloux@jcis.ca


     Michel Rod:Michel.rod@carleton.ca


    Observers:


     Jim Todd (OMAFRA): jim.todd@ontario.ca


    Student Representatives:


     Aynur Gunenc:aynur.gunenc@gmail.com


     Rania Agil:raniaj22@gmail.com

 

2-Finance Committee

  • Explores ways to finance JAAC and JAAC initiated activities


     Edward Farnworthtedfarnworth@yahoo.com

     Ton Lam:supertom@super-tom.com

  • Maintains financial records and bank accounts


    Observers:

     Yves Lavictoire (OMAFRA):yves.lavictoire@ontario.ca

 
3-Membership Committee

  • Establishes criteria for potential members of the association 
  • Overseas new member recruitment 
  • Maintains membership data base


     Ted Farnworth:tedfarnworth@yahoo.com

     Farah Hosseinian:farah.hosseinian@carleton.ca

     Rania Agil:raniaj22@gmail.com

     Aynur Gunenc: aynur.gunenc@gmail.com

 
4-Value Chain Committee

  • Co-ordinates liaison between various parts of the crop value chain (growers, processors, product developers, import/export).


     Mark Maillloux:mmailloux@jcis.ca  for growers

     Ton Lam:supertom@super-tom.com for Processors & product developers

     Larry M. Aden:yourprairiegold@gmail.com for export/import

  • Identifies barriers that prevent the expansion of the Jerusalem artichoke market  


     Michel Rod:Michel.rod@carleton.ca

     Bill Ableson:ablesonb@venn.ca
 

5-Communications Committee

  • Develops and maintains various communication platforms (website, Facebook page, brochures, etc.)
  • Organizes events to publicize and promote Jerusalem artichoke


     Farah Hosseinian:farah.hosseinian@carleton.ca

     Edward Farnworth:  tedfarnworth@yahoo.com

     Michel Rod:Michel.rod@carleton.ca

     Bill Ableson:ablesonb@venn.ca


6-Research Committee

  • Maintains a data base of research carried out on food, feed and other uses of Jerusalem artichoke
  • Encourages and facilitates sharing of ideas and infrastructure between Jerusalem artichoke researchers


     Farah Hosseinian:farah.hosseinian@carleton.ca

     Edward Farnworth:  tedfarnworth@yahoo.com

     Michel Rod:Michel.rod@carleton.ca